h1

Passion 2012

January 11, 2012

Jesus still heals and rescues today. That was the theme of the conference Passion in Atlanta Georgia. While we were rallying for the freedom of those still in slavery around the world Christ gave many of us freedom of our own.(click here to see the clip on CNN)

This passage came true for me this week:

6 “Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen:
to loose the chains of injustice
and untie the cords of the yoke,
to set the oppressed free
and break every yoke?
7 Is it not to share your food with the hungry
and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter—
when you see the naked, to clothe them,
and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?
8Then your light will break forth like the dawn,
   and your healing will quickly appear;
then your righteousness[a] will go before you,
   and the glory of the LORD will be your rear guard.”

God really spoke to me about freedom and healing at the conference. The message we started with was the story of Jesus interrupting the funeral procession of a widow’s son and raising him to life. We were dead in our trespasses and sins, but Christ has the power to heal, to free, bring the dead to life.

Then God spoke to me through John Piper’s message and pointed out that it’s not always about the healing and the freeing and the rescue. God was still God before we were even created. God was still good and holy and just before he did anything to help us. So I started to wonder, to worry, is this healing something you have for me or not?

Then once more! God spoke to me and said he would heal me anyway, that rescue and freedom is still in his plan. I came face to face with my own brokeness and said “What do I do?” and God said “Be broken.”

I learned to be vulnerable, to be broken. When I got home I was able to tell my mom about my eating disorder and for the first time… she listened! She didn’t tell me how I really felt, didn’t try to deny things or talk me about of it. Later I even told her about my voices and we talked about my experiences honestly. The timing was right. And these revealed secrets haven’t made things awkward or strained between us.

And I was able to talk to my dad about normal things without everything we said being turned into ammunition for our own personal agendas. I have wanted to forgive him for years but haven’t been able to. God changed my heart and helped me start to forgive my dad. I just can’t believe the things that have happened in the last week.

Leave a Reply

