h1

Headaches

March 11, 2011

Headaches and toothaches. Can you tell I’ve been in some pain recently? Advil or aspirin or whatever never works for me. So I gave up on taking any

. Then last year I found this:

Peppermint oil. It’s a muscle relaxer, so if you have tension headaches a lot like I do it’s a tremendous thing to have in your purse. Use 1-3 drops and rub into the back of your neck. Don’t use too much more; you will feel it working. Also, you can put it on your temples but I find it the fumes make my eyes feel like they’re in Antarctica.

My mother’s friend had a bad headache while we were out shopping. She had taken pain killers and an hour later they had done nothing. I pulled this out out of my purse and a few minutes later she was feeling better, and by a half hour her headache was gone. It usually works like this for me, and even if the headache isn’t completely gone I feel much better and able to get back to what I was doing with renewed energy.

One thing about essential oils: They’re very strong and you are supposed to use them diluted. But some, such as peppermint oil can usually be used neat (which means un-diluted.) It depends on your skin. Before you use it neat, put a drop in a half a teaspoon of olive or other oil and rub it on your inner elbow. If the skin turns red or gets itchy you know the product is not for you. If not, then you’re good to go. Just remember, if you don’t have a problem with it someone else still could.

This article on safety is a bit conservative in my opinion, but still has good guidelines. The best way to be safe is to know as much as you can about the particular oil you will be using. This page is an example of a good page. It gives the properties, warnings and even some ideas for how to use it.

Natural grocery stores and health food stores carry these. I bought mine (9.7 ml) for about nine dollars, but it was organic and plus my whole family and I have been using it for a year and it’s not even half gone.

Leave a Reply

