h1

A simple observation

January 19, 2011

Since onset I have been sad. As I began to recover, I found I could have a little fun once in a while, but having fun was hard work, and the depression was always there in the background. As time went on I found it a little easier to be happy about things. I practiced gratitude and was happy about many things, but I was never happy.

Sometime this last year, I’ve noticed a change. I am now a happy person who is sad about things. It’s not a matter of positive thinking, or framing things better, because I employed those methods for all they were worth before and got less mileage. It’s just how things are now. I think a lot of it has to do with the friend I made a year ago. With her I found time to be young again. Knowing she would accept me and all of my bizarre mistakes made me feel safe enough to relax for the first time. Her live-in-the-moment spontaneity helps me to leave anxiety behind. She is a reminder that God answers my prayers.

One comment

  1. I’m glad that this friend brought happiness into your life. ^___^



Leave a Reply

