h1

People who think psychology is bogus

October 5, 2010

I’m taking a psychology class and I find it fascinating. The textbook does recognize that psychology is an inexact science, but it is nonetheless a science.

My brother and others I know think psychology is a worthless field of pseudo-science.  I do my best to explain my side, but he always has a counter point to what I bring up and he gloats with this arrogant face. I hold my own ok but then I get so emotionally exhausted because I know he’s just trying to mess with me, and I can’t win. I am frustrated by the fact he’s not really playing by the rules.

I seem to think that if I draw up a good enough argument, and explain things well enough, I can make people understand and agree.  But it just doesn’t work like that.

Do any of you have to deal with people who think psychology or psychiatry are pseudo-sciences? Is it exhausting and disorienting for you being told one thing from one group and another from different people?

To me it’s like this: I hear from respectable sources that if you’re experiencing things that are not part of everyone else’s reality you’re ill. This statement is partly bothersome because I know things are real, just real in a different way, and partly reassuring, because it means that the shadow people can’t physically harm me, and that the government probably isn’t trying to kill us all.

Then family and friends say that i’m not ill and my struggle is not acknowledged. I am left to fend for myself. They even go so far as to say mental illness does not exist. But then they say that my experiences are not real either, and when it’s convenient they pull the “but you’re crazy” card.

In the end you have to decide for yourself what you think and stick to it.

One comment

  1. I do have to deal with people online that do not believe mental illnesses exist. It is very exhausting to have to deal with. They also believe that counseling and psychology are a load of crock.



Leave a Reply

