h1

Madness radio

August 16, 2010

Madness Radio is a program run by Will Hall, who is a voice hearer, and he interviews others who have recovered like he did, and they share their experiences. Many have recovered to become a part of alternative mental health treatments that focuses on treating the patient with respect and taking their reality seriously. Learn more on the about page.

I’ve been listening to Madness Radio more lately, catching up on some of the interviews. Most of the guests of the interviews have had negative experiences with mainstream mental health, so be forewarned that it’s going to take that approach, but they talk about very real problems with the system that need to be addressed.

I think my increased interest in this is spurred by the fact that when I woke up the nerve to talk about what’s happening, everyone immediately latches onto the voices as something bad, and tells me to ignore them. When I try to explain how much Shirley has grown up in the last year, and how we get along so much better, they throw up their hands and say “I don’t need to know about any of this… but I am here for you.” How does that make any sense? How can they be there for me if they won’t enter into my world?

They don’t understand that A) my voices have feelings too! and B) ignoring them does not make them go away, it just makes them irritated and bored.

Many of the people in the interviews emphasize the fact that your extreme states, your so called psychosis has meaning when examined in context of your life. It has something to teach us… that is why it is happening. To me, this makes much more sense than the other approach.

If any of this rings true for you and your interactions with people, go check out Madness Radio, and pick an interview with a topic that interests you. Today I listened to a very good interview with Jacqui Dillon recommended to me by a friend and fellow voice hearer.

Leave a Reply

