h1

Mood Swings

May 3, 2010

Why is it that whenever I mention mood swings (and I do so rarely) everyone likes to tell me something along the lines of “Oh, honey, everyone has those. Everyone has good days and bad days. It’s normal.”?

I want to say something like “Really? Then how come everyone else seems to be dealing with it so well? How come we don’t see more people making their weekly treck to lay on train tracks and contemplate the meaning(or lack-thereof) of life?”

Usually I just look away and change the subject, because obviously they don’t understand.

Yesterday I was feeling really good and I was painting and sewing and being extra productive. I was listening to music no one else could year, laughing with Shirley while I painted on my walls, thanking God for my insanity. Then I realized I was going to be late to go somewhere and let me tell you the crash was extremely disproportionate to the stress of trying to locate my phone. I arrived a little late and an acquaintance of mine said, “How are you?”

“I’m pretty good,” I said.

And he said “What’s wrong?”

Hah. Looks like I need to take a few drama classes.

Oh, one thing about mood swings you should know: Mania doesn’t always mean you feel fantastic. It’s just a severely elevated mood. It could be bad anxiety or bouts of crying or a really short temper. Which is what I get sometimes.

Leave a Reply

